Life thoughts: getting more out of life

When I turned 20 two years ago, I began to accept the fact that birthdays will be less exciting, less thrilling, less surprising, maybe less enjoyable. I was right to learn to accept that. Today was a rather, un-exciting, un-surprising day for me. It wasn’t like when I was younger when we would go to places we’ve never been the whole year, when people would give me gifts I never thought I had, when everyone’s focus was on me. I remember when I was in highschool when my parents would throw me a party, my friend’s would come over the house and we would have a great time not minding what was tomorrow or who prepared and who would clean-up the whole trashed place. It’s all about life–it’s all about spending time with the people I love the most. I would say that this year, I had a deeper sense of appreciation for what my parents had done for me; a deeper understanding of what the real life is apart from complete dependence on my parents; a deeper sense of knowing what I really want in life, and maybe a knowing of what things I can only know and understand from my present perspective. These things are more important than receiving an expensive watch, nice pair of kicks, an eye-catching car, or a top-of-the-line laptop that would eventually wear out and would eventually be branded useless. I thank God for the continious realization of what life was really meant to be–having and nurturing relationships. With that, I would say that I am blessed by Him, from whom all blessing flow. And if the blessings flow, that means that it doesn’t stop, it just keeps on going.

This is life! Thank You Father!

Alexander John ‘AJ’ Villanueva
posted from my Blackberry

Leave a Reply

