Life thoughts: Psalm 51

Psalm 51

 

Yesterday, me and my group did some serious spring cleaning in our office. This is an office/classroom/rehearsal room. I am a director of an instrumental ensemble and we have a concert this July and we need all the space we can have for a comfortable rehearsal. It amazed us how much dirt and clutter are in the room even examinations from the 80s! It’s an old room full of history of knowledge and sometimes shame. I saw some of my exam results in my early years as an undergrad music student. It surprised everyone that I almost failed my entrance exam to be a freshman music student. It was such a shame. But then they also saw another test paper of mine with the highest grade possible. I told them that it just goes to show that I learned a lot. They agreed. As I was searching the other test papers, one member of the group told me that I was looking at the papers of her class many years ago. I saw her name, and she quickly snatched the paper from my hand and tore it apart. Apparently she failed that exam. But she’s graduating now, so it really doesn’t matter.

 

Psalm 51 talks about how David was begging God to cleanse Him. Verse 7 says:

1Purify me awith hyssop, and I shall be clean;

2Wash me, and I shall be bwhiter than snow.

 

Hyssop is a type of bush that has had a lot of Biblical history. Hyssop was used to daub blood over the doorposts of the passover, it was associated with cleansing, also, Jesus sipped wine from a sponge raised on a hyssop branch. That hyssop represents the blood of Jesus and his death in the cross. David is saying, “God with your blood, please cleanse me so that my fellowship with you will be restored.”

 

I need cleansing with the hyssop right now. I have wronged God so many times, promised to not do it, but still do the same thing over and over again. But the Bible does promise, that our guilt and shame has now been washed away. I am just holding on to that promise right now. I’ve confessed so many times and have prayed for victory over this sin, but it seems that my sinful nature is still trying to win me back. But the promise is true. However sinful and shameful I may be, I am already cleansed, sorted out by the grace of God. Thank you Lord!

 

 

New American Standard Bible : 1995 Update (LaHabra, CA: The Lockman Foundation, 1995), Ps 51:7.

Leave a Reply

