Life thoughts: God’s Rainbow

Genesis 9:12-16

 

This started as my desire to know something from God that concerns rain. It’s been raining a lot here in Manila. Rivers are widening, streets are becoming flooded. I thought of teaching on something that concerns rain. I can’t think of anything else “rain” but Noah.

 

12      God said, “This is athe sign of the covenant which I am making between Me and you and every living creature that is with you, for 1all successive generations;

13      I set My abow in the cloud, and it shall be for a sign of a covenant between Me and the earth.

14      “It shall come about, when I bring a cloud over the earth, that the bow will be seen in the cloud,

15      and aI will remember My covenant, which is between Me and you and every living creature of all flesh; and bnever again shall the water become a flood to destroy all flesh.

16      “When the bow is in the cloud, then I will look upon it, to remember the aeverlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is on the earth.”

 

 

New American Standard Bible : 1995 Update (LaHabra, CA: The Lockman Foundation, 1995), Ge 9:12–16.

 

I think everyone who has read this passage know the promise of the rainbow–the Noahic Covenant; God’s promise of not destroying the world with water. But I wanted to dig deeper. So, why a rainbow? Why not a tree? Why not a star? Why a rainbow for a covenant? The answer is actually mind-blowing, yet very simple. In Ezek, 1:28, we find a reference to a rainbow to God sitting on His throne.

 

28      As the appearance of the arainbow 1in the clouds on a rainy day, so was the appearance of the surrounding radiance. Such was the appearance of the likeness of the bglory of the LORD. And when I saw it, I cfell on my face and heard a voice speaking.

 

New American Standard Bible : 1995 Update (LaHabra, CA: The Lockman Foundation, 1995), Eze 1:28.

 

In Rev. 4:3, we find this reference of the rainbow within God’s presence upon His throne in heaven.

 

3      And He who was sitting was like a ajasper stone and a bsardius in appearance; and there was a 1crainbow around the throne, like an demerald in appearance.

 

New American Standard Bible : 1995 Update (LaHabra, CA: The Lockman Foundation, 1995), Re 4:3.

 

The rainbow is not just an earth-made, natural wonder, but it is in fact an object from heaven. Not just any object, but an object surrounding the throne of God.

 

So I ask: People are so fond of rainbows. Why? I mean, personally, if I could take a picture of all the rainbows I see, I will. Once, I encountered a double rainbow on the way to work. That was probably the first time I saw two very clear rainbow one on top of the other. Nothing can beat that, yet.

 

The principle of the rainbow is this: God’s promises are true because a part of who He is given to us. The rainbow is a part of heaven, a part of His throne, a part of Him. And He has made us see a glimpse of heaven when He made a covenant to Noah with a rainbow.

 

How does a covenant or promise become legit enough? I think that covenant are remembered when an object represents it. A ring for a married couple associates one’s spouse with that ring in that whenever one looks at it, so many memories of love and joy flash back. A letter from a loved one associates that person to that letter. So even independent of the content of the letter, one remembers the giver of that letter because one is associated with it. I saw a film once about my favorite Romantic composer, Ludwig van Beethoven. Researchers claim to have found a handful of strands of his hair encased in a vacuum sealed dome. Literally, a part of Beethoven is remembered until now just because of those strands of hair. As a musician, I will always say that every composition of mine contains my heart and soul. So if asked what my favorite work is, I would say everything, because a part of me is hidden somewhere within the music.

 

In the same way, we remember God because a part of Him is seen through the rainbow. And since that rainbow was established to be a remembrance of His promise to Noah, we can be sure that His promise will never fail. And as a God who is immutable and holy, and eternal, it is who He is that makes that covenant true up to today. He never changes, He is not double-minded like we are. And He has given us a physical reference of Himself through the rainbow. Maybe that’s why we are fond of rainbows. It doesn’t only signify the end of a storm, it doesn’t only signify God’s covenant, but it reminds us of God. Who knows, maybe we are looking at Him sitting on His throne. And since we see Him through the rainbow, we see hope, love, life, joy and remember our salvation. So next time you see a rainbow, say hi to God. You are looking at Him.

Leave a Reply

