Life thoughts: a Sendong Christmas

This might be one of the saddest Christmases in the Philippines as more than 900 Filipinos died and more are missing in CDO, Iligan and surrounding cities in Mindanao and Dumaguete as Typhoon Sendong showed us its wrath Friday midnight of last week.

It really breaks my heart to see images of death and grief in a time where joy and peace should abound.

This picture, popular all over Facebook, struck me as I was sitting in front of my laptop with my dad looking at the pics. He was brought into tears looking at this photo.

Kung mangyari yan sa isa sa inyo, sana mamatay nalang din ako. Ang sakit nyan.”

It’s easy for us to say that, yes, there is a reason behind this horrifying tragedy, but try telling them that. It’s going to be difficult for them to understand such a thing at the present, especially when you know that almost your whole family died, you have no more house to live in, and all other Filipinos around the country are celebrating, except you. That is much more difficult than how it sounds.

When Ondoy struck in 2009, our neighbors here in Marikina where one of the most devastated by the tragedy. After 2 years, I am proud to say that most of them got through hell on earth. I know of one family whom I see almost everyday in school who got through it. They’re safe, happy now, even though most of their belongings where washed away by the flood.

For the victims of Sendong, the most that we can do is donate. Tama na Christmas party. Maybe we can set aside some luxury this Christmas to give to those who are in dire need of water, clothes and food. I am proud to say that I did my part by donating to the Philippine Red Cross.

It is my first time to donate to the Red cross and it actually feels good to know that what you’ve worked for so hard will go a long way helping people who are hungry and have no houses to live in for Christmas.

If you’re reading this, I am urging you to donate to the Philippine Red Cross for the victims of Typhoon Sendong. It will go a long long way.

Donate here: http://www.redcross.org.ph/donate

 

And above all else, let us pray for those people who have loved ones who died in this horrifying tragedy. It will be a very different Christmas for them. God bless you!

 

19 thoughts on “Life thoughts: a Sendong Christmas

  1. Thank you for the pingback.

    It breaks my heart to see the first photo for the second time that’s why I had to skip the succeeding ones.

    I hope the victims will find solace after the tragedy.

    God bless you.

  2. I must point out my passion for your generosity in support of people who have the need for assistance with the situation. Your special commitment to passing the solution all over became exceptionally informative and have constantly helped guys and women much like me to arrive at their dreams. This informative suggestions denotes so much to me and somewhat more to my colleagues. Thanks a lot; from each one of us.

  3. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this web site I’m hoping the same high-grade website post from you in the upcoming also Actually your creative writing skills has inspired me to get my own site now Really the blogging is spreading its wings quickly Your write up is a good example of it

Leave a comment